Artist Spotlight #41: Leah Craig

screen-shot-2016-11-01-at-11-25-43-pm

Leah Craig

A vegetarian artist who captures meat and greasy friers in her oil paintings with a delicate flourish, Leah Craig clearly does not shy away from life’s uglier and more mundane features. In our latest spotlight, Leah tells us about her studio (Floating Goose Studios) and heaps praise on her two artistic mentors, Julia Robinson and Rob Gutteridge.

Q: Hello Leah! Can you please tell us a bit about yourself?

A: Hello there! I live in the city of Adelaide and with my partner Christopher, and our other life partners, a Papillon dog named Pepi, and a very demure Deerhound named Walter. We are also both founding members of Floating Goose Studios

screen-shot-2016-11-01-at-11-25-54-pm

Q: Who inspires you? What inspires your art?

A:I think inspiration comes in the format of a prickly feeling about something – not necessarily always something I particularly enjoy; after all I am a long standing vegetarian with an abnormal obsession of painting meat. I’ve got to be kept interested, otherwise I get lost. But sometimes that works too. The nature of my practice revolves around the cyclical nature of consumption: supermarkets, restaurants, abattoirs and weddings.

Q: Do you have a preferred medium?

A: Oil on panel.

screen-shot-2016-11-01-at-11-26-05-pm

Q: How would you describe your style?

A: Thick and greasy.

Q: Can you please describe your artistic and creative process i.e.: from lingering idea to putting it into practice?

A: Sometimes I will see something clearly in my head – it is just put there and I start from that. Other times I’ll look at something (pigeons lately) and obsess over that for ideas or focus. It’s from a combination of sources.

screen-shot-2016-11-01-at-11-26-17-pm

Q: Where do you see your art practice taking you in the next five years?

A: Hopefully to still get the same buzz out of painting, as I do now, and to find it just as challenging.

Q: If you could recommend one artist, who would it be?

A: Julia Robinson and Rob Gutteridge – I can’t pick one. They are both incredible multi-talented artists and teachers, and they are both here in Adelaide. I think to study under such people and to not only see their practice, but to hear the way they both speak about their art in a more general context is a healthy way to engage with your idols. Living, human geniuses.

screen-shot-2016-11-01-at-11-26-30-pm

Q: What is your favourite gallery?

A: Floating Goose, because it’s my one true love.

Q: Where can we find more of your work?

A: Come over for a visit at Floating Goose (271, Morphett Strett).

screen-shot-2016-11-01-at-11-26-51-pm

Q: What would your final meal be?

A: Two minute noodles and champagne. Because if it is my last meal I want it to be quick so I can fade out in a haze of bubbly champagne.

– Masya Zabidi

Leave a Reply

