Interviews

Artist Spotlight #40: Danielle Saliba

screen-shot-2016-10-26-at-6-16-44-pmDanielle’s Tracey Emin-esque work (latex, pigment, text)

Both traditional and modern ideas of femininity are explored and dissected through various mediums in Danielle Saliba’s provocative artworks. In our latest spotlight, Danielle talks about her influences and her favourite galleries.

Q: Hello Danielle! Can you please tell us a bit about yourself?

A: Hello! I completed my undergraduate degree in 2015, and am  currently in my honours year of Visual Arts at the University of South Australia. When I’m not studying, my life revolves around puppies and books.

screen-shot-2016-10-26-at-6-16-00-pmPhoto credit: Emma Carter

Q: Who inspires you? What inspires your art?

A: My life, my experiences and my relationships all inspire my work, as well as the diverse, dynamic and talented people I’m lucky to be surrounded by in my studies.

Q: Do you have a preferred medium?

A: Undertaking my honours year has really given me the opportunity to explore new mediums and materials that I could have never predicted that I’d be using. Right now I’m really enjoying exploring mediums of soft sculpture and textiles in my work – the tactile and associative nature of materials and surfaces, their sensations, and what they can evoke internally and emotionally.

screen-shot-2016-10-26-at-6-16-18-pmA peek into Danielle’s working desk

Q: How would you describe your style?

A: Quiet, intimate, human

Q: Can you please describe your artistic and creative process i.e.: from lingering idea to putting it into practice?

A: I read a lot. About other artists, their practices, their lives. Learning about how they make, why they make and choose to use the materials and techniques they do inspires me to begin experimenting with materials and ideas in similar ways and to keep pushing them into a more cohesive direction and body of work.

screen-shot-2016-10-26-at-6-16-31-pm

Q: Where do you see your art practice taking you in the next five years?

A: I’d really love to have my first solo show in the new year, and maybe some group shows, too. This year is my last of having spent four years at art school, so the dynamic of, and the environment in which I create post-art school is probably going to be completely different to what I’m used to right now, so its hard to know where it will take me past next year! Ideally though, I just want to continue to develop and refine my practice.

Q: If you could recommend one artist, who would it be?

A: Louise Bourgeois. I’m sure that most people already know her work, but her use and innovation of traditionally craft-based materials like plaster, latex, textiles etc. throughout her life and how she continually transformed and pushed her practice through so many movements and into a contemporary field without losing hold of who she was and what she was about inspires me and my work so much. I always still learn something new about her as an artist every time I read about her.

screen-shot-2016-10-26-at-6-14-09-pm

Soft bones, knitted yarn, 2015

Q: What is your favourite gallery?

A: I’m not sure if I have an absolute favourite in Adelaide, but I really enjoy the Australian Experimental Art Foundation (AEAF). Both the bookshop and the gallery space are excellent. Deborah Prior’s solo Tangled Saints that was exhibited there this time last year was displayed so hauntingly beautiful and intimate, and such a highlight and inspiration for me personally. And I also really love NGV in Melbourne.

Q: Where can we find more of your work?

A: I share all of my work on my Instagram and Facebook

screen-shot-2016-10-26-at-6-16-59-pmWallpaper Women, acrylic, oil, charcoal on found wallpaper, 2015.

Q: What’s your all-time favourite quote?

A: Brian Eno and Peter Schmidt’s ‘Oblique Strategies’ have always been so refreshing to me and saved me many times from my artistic insecurities and meltdowns. Some of my favourites are: Ask Your Body, Listen to the quiet voice, and Towards the insignificant. I usually always have a couple of them pinned up in my studio to go to when I feel confused or doubtful in what I’m making or don’t know where to push it to next.

– Masya Zabidi

Leave a Reply

